Quiban Named NEWMAC Defensive Player of the Year, Ramos First-Team All-Conference

Quiban Named NEWMAC Defensive Player of the Year, Ramos First-Team All-Conference

WESTWOOD, Mass. – The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) announced the Volleyball All-Conference and Postseason Awards on Tuesday afternoon. After helping lead the MIT Engineers to an impressive 2017 season, Abby Bertics has been named the Athlete of the Year. Leading the conference in digs and digs per set, Clark's Rayme Quiban (Seattle, Wash.) has been named the Defensive Player of the Year while Abby's teammate, Andie Maloney, the conference leader in assists per set has been named the Rookie of the Year.

For Clark, Quiban earned Defensive Player of the Year and First-Team All-Conference honors while senior Marina Ramos (Guaynabo, Puerto Rico) earned a spot on First-Team All-Conference and Jacqueline Jimenez-Maldonado (San Francisco, Calif.) was recognized on the NEWMAC All-Sportsmanship Team.

Quiban led the Cougars and the NEWMAC in digs and digs per set with a total of 546 digs over her 2017 campaign. She also posted a team high 30 service aces. Ramos finished the season leading the NEWMAC in kills (449) and kills per set (4.58) to earn a spot on the All-Conference First Team.

Voted by the eleven volleyball coaches, MIT head coach, Paul Dill has been named the 2017 Volleyball Coach of the Year after leading the Engineers to an undefeated regular season in conference play and the second consecutive NEWMAC crown.

The NEWMAC Volleyball All-Conference Team consists of a first and second team that consists of seven selections which are voted on by the volleyball coaches from the conference. The 2017 honorees are listed below. 

Also being recognized are the eleven volleyball student-athletes that were named to the All-Sportsmanship Team. The award is intended to recognize one student-athlete from each team, in every sport that best demonstrates the ideals of the NEWMAC and its Code of Conduct, regardless of his/her overall performance or statistics for the season. The volleyball honorees are listed below.

2017 NEWMAC Volleyball All-Conference

Team Name Institution
First Team All-Conference Abby Bertics MIT
First Team All-Conference Rayme Quiban Clark University
First Team All-Conference Elizabeth Cameron Babson College
First Team All-Conference Yasmine Reece Wellesley College
First Team All-Conference Alli Davanzo MIT
First Team All-Conference Marina Ramos Clark University
First Team All-Conference Andie Maloney MIT
Second Team All-Conference Becca Houghton Wheaton College
Second Team All-Conference Jen Donnelly Springfield College
Second Team All-Conference Allie Puccio Babson College
Second Team All-Conference Lauren Gedney Wellesley College
Second Team All-Conference Bridget Boyle U.S. Coast Guard Academy
Second Team All-Conference Angelou Dunton U.S. Coast Guard Academy
Second Team All-Conference Lisette Tellez MIT


2017 NEWMAC Volleyball All-Sportsmanship Team

Name Institution
Cameron Mercer Wheaton College
Laura Townsend Springfield College
Jacqueline Jimenez-Maldonado Clark University
Kat Hurlock WPI
Xela Miller Smith College
Clare Farley MIT
Isabell Linde Mount Holyoke College
Makenna Martin U.S. Coast Guard Academy
Samantha Ostenso Wellesley College
Kristin Carosotto Babson College
Moira Brennen  Emerson College


Wildcats Shut-Out Volleyball
October 13, 2017 Wildcats Shut-Out Volleyball
Clark Cruises Past Keene, 3-0
September 29, 2017 Clark Cruises Past Keene, 3-0