Clark Rowing Competes in NEWMAC Championship

Clark Rowing Competes in NEWMAC Championship

Worcester, Mass.--The Clark University women's rowing team competed in the New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Championship on a beautiful Saturday morning at Donahue Rowing Center on Lake Quinsigamond. Following the race Halley Glier (Shelburne, Mass.) and Emily Ladda (Farmington, Conn.) were named to the 2018 NEWMAC All-Conference Second Team. The Blue of Wellesley College swept all four races to earn the Florence Jope Smith Cup and a trip to the NCAA Rowing Championships Memorial Day Weekend in Sarasota, FL. WPI earned silver across the board.

The Blue captured the varsity eight in a time of 7:07.298 with the Engineers crossing the line in a time of 7:10.662. Smith took third (7:23.686), followed by Simmons, Coast Guard, Mount Holyoke and Clark (8:07.230). It was a wider margin of victory in the second varsity eight, which featured the same order of finish, as Wellesley handed in a 7:22.929 compared to WPI's 7:31.655. Clark finished the second varsity eight in 8:39.985.

WPI's third varsity eight (7:44.751) led until Wellesley (7:41.900) passed them with about 500 meters to go while Smith ended up third. In the first race of the day, the Blue used an 8:04.500 to take the head-to-head fourth varsity eight.

Wellesley, who has now won the overall points award for eight straight years, finished first with 44 points. The Blue were followed by WPI in second with 30 points. Smith College was third with 22 points, followed by Simmons in fourth with 16 points, Coast Guard in fifth with 12 points, Mount Holyoke in sixth with eight points and Clark in seventh with four points.

The Blue also swept the major awards with Kelsey Campbell (Broomfield, CO) being named 2018 NEWMAC Rower of the Year and Sydney Stento (Boise, ID) tabbed as the 2018 Coxswain of the Year. 

Joining the Wellesley duo on the NEWMAC All-Conference first team were teammates Meg Babikian (Belmont, MA), Liz Shumway (Eden Praire, MN), as well as Christine Hovermale (Alameda, CA), Marlies de Jong (Huntington Beach, CA) and Kinsey McNamara (Chelmsford, MA) of WPI and Lucy Jensen (River Forest, IL) and Julianne Eppley (Greenville, PA) of Smith.

The NEWMAC All-Conference second team was made up of WPI coxswain Madison Healey (Atkinson, NH), Coast Guard's Marissa Marsh (Vienna, VA) Jacquelyn Dilley (Steialcoom, WA), Simmons' Samantha Kelsey (Salt Lake City, UT) and Veronica Bennett (Pottstown, PA), Mount Holyoke's Liz Hazen (Brookline,  MA) and Arita Lawson (Washington, DC) and Glier and Ladda from Clark.

Wellesley wins the conference title for the eighth consecutive year and the ninth time in program history to earn the NEWMAC's automatic bid to the 2018 NCAA Division III Championship at Nathan Benderson Park in Sarasota, Fla. The Blue will represent the NEWMAC for a ninth consecutive year at this year's NCAA Championships.

Clark will compete at the New England Championship on May 5th at Lake Quinsigamond.