Men's Lacrosse Places Four on NEWMAC All-Conference Teams, King Named All-Conference First Team

Men's Lacrosse Places Four on NEWMAC All-Conference Teams, King Named All-Conference First Team

WESTWOOD, Mass. - Clark University men's lacrosse placed four student-athletes on the New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) 2018 Men's Lacrosse All-Conference Team as announced by the league office on Tuesday morning. Junior Brandon King (Eastham, Mass.) was named to the NEWMAC All-Conference first team while senior Will Mandracchia (Melrose, Mass.), sophomore Bobby Philbin (Ridgefield, Conn.), and junior goalkeeper Nathan Maselek (Marblehead, Mass.) were all named to the All-Conference second team. Senior Whit Merrit (Leverett, Mass.) was named to the NEWMAC All-Sportsmanship team.

King led the Cougars with 43 goals and added six assists for a team high 49 points. He also ranked third in the NEWMAC at the conclusion of the 2018 season in goals (43) and fourth in shots (125). He posted a season high six goals in Clark's victories over both Salve Regina and Saint John Fisher. King's 49 points nearly tied his career high 50 points he posted as a junior.

Mandracchia finished in third for Clark with 37 points from 24 goals and 13 assists as he was a key component of the Cougar's offense. He also picked up 18 ground balls and caused six turnovers.

Philbin led Clark in face-offs winning 128 of 195 match-ups. He was a force in the NEWMAC ranking fourth with a record of 54-84 in conference face-offs. Philbin also added seven goals and a pair of assists to go along with a team high 69 ground balls. 

Maselek finished 2018 at the top of the NEWMAC in save percentage sitting at 60.5 percent. He ranked second in the NEWMAC with 173 saves and his 9.01 goals against average ranked him third in the conference. Maselek finished with an 8-6 overall record.

Two of the leagues top goalkeepers, Springfield's Jake Reynolds and Coast Guard's Trey Johnson shared the Defensive Player of the Year honors while MIT's Graham Davis took home Athlete of the Year with his teammate Luke Gianni being named the Rookie of the Year.

After leadind the Coast Guard Bears to one of the most successful seasons in program history while earning a share of the NEWMAC regular season crown, head coach, Ray LaFrote was voted the 2018 Men's Lacrosse Coach of the Year.

The Men's Lacrosse All-Conference team consists of 15 first team and second team honorees that are voted on by the eight head coaches. The 2018 honorees are listed below.

Also being recognized are the eight men's lacrosse student-athletes that were named to the All-Sportsmanship Team. The award is intended to recognize one student-athlete from each team, in every sport that best demonstrates the ideals of the NEWMAC and its Code of Conduct, regardless of his/her overall performance or statistics for the season.

For the full release and list of 2018 NEWMAC All-Conference honorees click here.