Dynamic Duo - Alexander, Vayda Named First Team All-NEWMAC

Worcester, Mass. - After leading Clark to their first NCAA Tournament appearance since 2003, Cougars Mark Alexander (Providence, R.I.) and Brian Vayda (Sturbridge, Mass.) were both named to the New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference first-team it was announced by the conference office following a vote of the league's eight head coaches.

The first-team nod for Alexander gives him four all-conference selections in his career, making him just the second men's player in NEWMAC history to complete the career sweep. Former Clark standout David McNamara is the other four-time, all-conference honoree.

Alexander, who moved into fifth-place on the school's all-time scoring list (1,625) during the Cougars' improbable run to the NEWMAC Tournament title, has appeared in 27 games this season and leads the team in scoring (17.6), assists (80), steals (44), free throw percentage (79.2), free throws made (133) and free throws attempted (168). He as reached double figures in 25 of 27 games and has nine games of 20+ points, including a pair of 30+ point performances. On two occasions this season he was named NEWMAC player of the week - one of just three individuals to win the award multiple times.

Vayda, meanwhile, picked up right where he left off during his rookie of the year campaign a season ago. He is second on the team in scoring (15.6), first in rebounding (6.8), first in three-point percentage (38.9) and second in both steals (37) and assists (53). The MVP of the Golden Bear Classic, he has three double-doubles this season and topped 20 points on six different occasions, including posting a career-high 30 points in the regular season finale at WPI.

The Cougars stand at 16-12 overall and will face Albright College in Reading, Pa. on Friday night in the first round of the NCAA Tournament - the program's 15th all-time appearance.

2009-10 NEWMAC First-Team All-Conference
Mark Alexander, Clark
Matt Cavaleri, Springfield
Noel Hollingsworth, MIT
Jeff Robinson, WPI
Brian Vayda, Clark

2009-10 NEWMAC Second-Team All-Conference
Anthony Coppola, Wheaton
Pat Crean, Springfield
Brendan Degnan, Wheaton
Mitchell Kates, MIT
Kyle Nadeau, WPI

Player of the Year:
Noel Hollingsworth (MIT)

Rookie of the Year:
Mitchell Kates (MIT)

Coach of the Year:
Charlie Brock (Springfield)

Sportsmanship Award:
Coast Guard

Cougars Escape With 54-46 Win
November 24, 2009 Cougars Escape With 54-46 Win