Downing and Bonicki Named to NEWMAC Baseball All-Conference First Team

Downing and Bonicki Named to NEWMAC Baseball All-Conference First Team

WESTWOOD, Mass. - Senior Teddy Downing (Cambridge, Mass.) and graduate student Kyle Bonicki (Waterbury, Conn.) of the Clark University baseball team were named to the New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) 2018 Baseball All-Conference First Team as announced by the league office on Wednesday morning. Senior Joshua Dobratz (Southington, Conn.) was named to the NEWMAC All-Sportsmanship team.

Downing contributed greatly to the success of the baseball team in 2018. He had 56 hits including eight doubles, one triple and two homeruns and ranked in the top three in the NEWMAC for batting averages at .373. He also boasted an impressive .480 slugging percentage and ranked fifth in the NEWMAC in RBIs with 34. As one of the most successful closing pitchers in the conference he accumulated 30 strikeouts over 21 innings pitched, had three wins on the season, and a conference high six saves. This is Downing's second All-Conference first-team recognition.

Bonicki ranked second in the NEWMAC for batting average hitting .392 at the conclusion of the season. He led the Cougars with 58 hits including 11 doubles, five triples and one homerun. He raked in 17 RBI's and scored a team high 43 runs to lead Clark to their NEWMAC tournament appearances. This was Bonicki's third NEWMAC All-Conference first team recognition.

After sitting atop the leagues leaderboard in RBI's and homeruns, Ryan Arena has been named the Athlete of the Year. With his 1.18 ERA in league play, good for No. 1 on the leaderboard, Springfield's Shawn Babineau was named the Pitcher of the Year. Also earning major honors is Wheaton's Gavin Reily who holds the second best overall ERA at 1.31 while his conference numbers put him in the top three during his rookie campaign.

Leading the Babson Beavers to their second consecutive crown while boasting an 32-10 (14-3) record and claiming the NEWMAC Regular Season Title, head coach, Matt Noone was voted the 2018 Baseball Coach of the Year.

The 2018 Baseball All-Conference Team consists of nine first and second team honorees which are voted on by the eight baseball coaches.

Also being recognized are the eight baseball student-athletes that were named to the All-Sportsmanship Team. The award is intended to recognize one student-athlete from each team, in every sport that best demonstrates the ideals of the NEWMAC and its Code of Conduct, regardless of his/her overall performance or statistics for the season.

For the full release and lsit of honorees click here: 2018 NEWMAC Baseball All-Conference Teams

Baseball Outlasted by MIT
April 11, 2018 Baseball Outlasted by MIT