Pat Glispin
Pat Glispin
Title: Head Women's Basketball Coach
Phone: (508) 793-7628
Year: 30th season
Alma Mater: UMass-Amherst, 1975

One of only of a handful of coaches in the history of Division III women’s basketball to win 450 games, Pat Glispin returns for the 30th season on the bench in 2012-13.

The winningest coach in the history of Clark women’s basketball, Glispin has blazed a trail of success that has spanned parts of three decades.

In all, Glispin sports an overall record of 491-285 and is on the cusp of winning her 500th career contest.

During her first 29 seasons at the helm, Glispin has led the Cougars to the NCAA Tournament seven times, including a journey to the 1989 NCAA Elite Eight.

Glispin’s coaching has produced 22 winning seasons, including 11 campaigns in which her squads won 20 or more contests. During a five year stretch, the Cougars averaged 23 wins a seasons, made four trips to the ECAC Tournament and a deep run into the NCAA Tournament.

In 2000 and 2004, the Cougars won the New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Tournament and earned the automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament, going a combined 42-16 in those years.

The two-time NEWMAC Coach of the Year (1997, 2004), Glispin led Clark to three consecutive NEWMAC regular season titles in 1996-97, 1997-98 and 1998-99 going a combined 20-3 in regular season conference play. In all, Glispin has led the Cougars to four regular season titles, including their shared title with Springfield in 2003-04.

Clark played in the first five NEWMAC Tournament championship contests (1996-2000) becoming the first true dynasty of the current conference era which began in 1995-96.

Along with the Cougars success in the NCAA Tournament, Clark has excelled in the ECAC Tournament under Glispin’s watch. The Cougars are just one of two teams to win three ECAC New England Division III Championships (1988, 1990 and 1996).

In 1988-89, when Glispin was named Converse District 1 Coach of the Year, her squad finished the regular season undefeated (26-0), won the NCAA Northeast Regional Championship, wrapped up the season at 28-1, and set an NCAA Division III record for 36 consecutive wins.

In addition to team success, individual student-athletes have flourished under Glispin. Four individuals - Maria Giolas (1987), Tara McGuire (1989), Meegan Garrity (1996, 1997) and Marissa Garrity (2000) - have been named All-Americans, while and five players have collected NEWMAC Player of the Year awards.

A former three-sport star in basketball, softball and field hockey, Glispin, was enshrined in the Grafton (Mass.) High Hall of Fame in 2005 and was inducted into the New England Basketball Hall of Fame in 2009.

A four-year letterwinner in basketball, Glispin is a 1975 graduate of the University of Massachusetts-Amherst. She received a bachelor's in physical education and a master's in psychological education in 1987.





2012-13 13-13 8-10 NEWMAC Tournament Quarterfinals
2011-12 16-11 12-6 ECAC Tournament First Round
2010-11 9-17 8-10 NEWMAC Tournament Quarterfinals 
2009-10 5-20 4-14 None
2008-09 13-13 9-4 NEWMAC Tournament Quarterfinals
2007-08 8-17 4-9 NEWMAC Tournament Quarterfinals
2006-07 12-13 8-5 NEWMAC Tournament Quarterfinals
2005-06 17-9 7-6 NEWMAC Tournament Quarterfinals
2004-05 15-12 6-7 NEWMAC Tournament Finals
2003-04 21-7 10-3 NCAA Tournament First Round
2002-03 12-13 4-5 NEWMAC Tournament Quarterfinals
2001-02 13-13 3-6 NEWMAC Tournament Quarterfinals
2000-01 14-12 6-3 NEWMAC Tournament Quarterfinals
1999-00 21-9 6-3 NCAA Tournament Sectional Quarterfinals
1998-99 19-9 7-2 ECAC Tournament First Round
1997-98 20-8 6-1 NCAA Tournament First Round
1996-97 24-4 7-0 NCAA Tournament First Round
1995-96 20-10 5-2 ECAC Tournament Champions
1994-95 19-8   NCAA Tournament First Round
1993-94 20-7   ECAC Tournament Second Round
1992-93 17-9   ECAC Tournament First Round
1991-92 22-5   NCAA Tournament First Round
1990-91 20-7   ECAC Tournament Semifinals 
1989-90 22-6   ECAC Tournament Champions
1988-89 28-1   NCAA Tournament National Quarterfinals
1987-88 22-6   ECAC Tournament Champions
1986-87 19-8    
1985-86 13-11    
1984-85 17-7    

29 Seasons