Clark Posts Key NEWMAC Win Over Wheaton, 5-4

Clark Posts Key NEWMAC Win Over Wheaton, 5-4

Norton, Mass. – Visiting Clark University swept all three doubles matches en route to a huge league win, knocking off New England Women's And Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) rival Wheaton College, 5-4 on Wednesday afternoon at Beard Field House.

The win for the Cougars extends their season-best winning streak to four matches, pushing their league mark to 2-0 for the first time in school history.

In addition, after losing its first 16 all-time meetings with the Lyons dating back to 1999, Clark has now won the last two matchups between the two schools.

The doubles combination of Diego Angel (Lima, Peru) and Antoine Martin (Bryn Mawr, Pa.) were victorious at No. 1, topping Jonah Feit and Will White, 8-6 to get the ball rolling. The Angel/Martin duo has fared well since being paired together, having won five straight matches together and are 5-1 as a tandem.

Dan Hall (Sutton, Mass.) and Harris Rollinger (Lexington, Mass.) took down Sam Jackson and William Beaton at No. 3 with relative ease, collecting an 8-2 win.

Dan Stein (Newton, Mass.) and Zack Goodstein (Columbus, Ohio) completed the Clark doubles sweep at No. 2, outlasting Dan Sharon and Ned Terrance, 8-6.

Things got a lot more interesting in singles matches, as the Lyons won four of the six matches. Sharon edged out Martin at No. 3, 6-3, 3-6, 6-3 and Jackson helped the cause with a 6-3, 7-6 (7-2) triumph at No. 4 over Goodstein.

Dennis Scarpa, who didn't play during doubles action, came on to defeat Fernando Pinoargote (Guayaquil, Ecuador) in straight sets, 6-2, 6-3 and Terrace notched a 6-4, 6-3 win over Rollinger at No. 6.

But the Cougars got the two wins they needed at the top, with Angel rolling to a 6-1, 6-4 win over Feit at No. 1 and Stein registering a straight set, 6-3, 6-3 win over David Gessen at No. 2.

Clark (7-5) now faces its toughest test yet on Saturday when they travel to Cambridge for a rematch of last season's NEWMAC Tournament championship with MIT. First serve is slated for 2:30 p.m.